Fablehaven by Brandon Mull…A review!

If you are someone that is looking to read a novel series and you think fantasy is your genre, I’ve got the perfect recommendation for you.

The Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull are the perfect books to enter the world of fantasy.

With 5 books in the series, the story is a look into a magical world with secret preserves for mystical creatures, magic, betrayal, love, and everything else.


Pc: Google


The first novel follows the story of Kendra Sorenson and her younger brother Seth Sorenson who visit their grandparents’ house while their parents are away. What they initially assume to be a huge flora protecting preserve turns out to be a magical fauna protecting preserve. Little by little, the story develops as the two find out about the world they didn’t realize existed.

The subsequent novels then tackle the problems that all of the preserves across the world face and ultimately, how much of their survival depends on the Sorenson Siblings.

To go a little more into the stories, the first book deals mainly with the siblings learning about the hidden world of magical beings and a few of the problems that come with it.

In the second book (Fablehaven: Rise of the Evening Star), the siblings face the threat of a new student in their school whose real face, only Kendra can see. The story develops to more information about The Society of the Evening Star, the hidden artifacts in the secret preserve and dangerous assignments for the siblings.

In the third book( Fablehaven: Grip of the Shadow Plague), the siblings have to deal with a new plague that grips Fablehaven. Sacrifices are made, new preserves are visited and siblings face all of the coming danger head on.

Book four(Fablehaven: Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary) deals with the race to find all five magical artifacts. The Sorenson’s have to face much more than they ever did. They face wizards to negotiate with, enormous evil dragons, and of course, the biggest giant in the world.

The last book(Fablehaven: Keys to the Demon Prison) of the series, has the siblings continuing their search for all the artifacts. They make new allies, and even separated, the siblings do their part in saving the world. It all comes to a final showdown at the Zzyzx where they team up with the most unexpected allies and attempt the impossible.

All in all, the series is a completely fascinating story, written splendidly. It would be the perfect novel to lose yourself and step into a world of magic. I’d give it a 3.75/5.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: