Movie Reviews

The Eternal River that’s dry…

The Kaveri river is one of the most magnificent rivers in India. Covering four states, it is known for its magnificence.

We have all often heard the Kaveri being referred to as an eternal river.

Recently, I went on an another devotional trip to the village of Kodumudi. This place is known for its famous Magudeashwarar temple that lies on the banks of what used to be the Kaveri, and I guess, sometimes still is.

Having heard stories of this majestic river for a very long time, I went with great anticipation, waiting to finally lay my eyes on her magnificence.

Much to my dismay, all I was destined to see was the dried up banks of a large basin covered with moss and a few bodies of water that were smaller than ponds. It was heartbreaking to see.

The hardest part was, being able to see what once was.

The huge basin of land, stretched as far the eye could see, in my mind, I pictured it filled with gushing water, full and flowing across happily.

I could see what once was.

But all that was left was dry land, pipes to fetch the scarce amount of water from the depths of the earth, and a large amount of rubbish.

True, the Kaveri is place of worship and the Hindu custom gives way for several poojas and other religious ceremonies. But the one thing that bothered me more than the drying of the Kaveri, was why no one was taking the initiative to clean up the basin, now that it was dry.

Water pollution is a problem that the world faces today and it is no small deal. So doesn’t it make sense to clean the place to prevent the pollution of the sacred river that might flow again some day?

Don’t take me wrong, I do not say that we must stop the poojas or the ceremonies. Simply clean up after the ones that were done a long time back, and avoid littering waste into the river.

I don’t know. I might be wrong. I might be missing something. I might even not realize something very simple.

But somehow, I can’t stop wishing that I will get the privilege to someday, go to the very same village again. I can’t stop wishing that I will get the opportunity to see the Kaveri in flowing in its original glory. And maybe, just maybe, it’ll be clean too…

Leave a Reply

